Friday 21st of June 2019

Patronage for Hester among BD Awards 2016

Over two busy and informative days at the 2016 British Dressage National Convention in association with Harrison Clark Rickerbys and St John’s Chambers (19 – 20 November), a number individuals were recognised and annual trophies presented to mark a bumper year for the sport.

© Kevin Sparrow

© Kevin Sparrow

The largest cheer of the weekend was for Carl Hester when it was announced that he’d agreed to become the first ever Honorary Patron of British Dressage. All acknowledge that no one has done more to further the progress of dressage, inspire generations, promote harmonious training and raise standards than him.  

British Dressage (BD) Chairman Penny Pollard commented;

“So much has been written on what an extraordinary person Carl Hester is and when you have the privilege to meet him in person, you soon realise how true every word is.  When we discussed this new honour as a Board, there was no hesitation that it was an apt and fitting reward for all of Carl’s unstinting support, boundless effort and achievements.  All of us in dressage owe Carl a huge debt; his vision, his drive, his determination are unequalled and I can’t think of anyone more deserving.”


His protégée Charlotte Dujardin was presented with a British Dressage Medal of Honour for her outstanding contribution to the sport, as was Janet Horswill following two successful terms as BYRDS Director.  Charlotte’s medal tally of 14 in just six Championships is extraordinary, even more so that nine of them are gold.  She’s put dressage on the map in the sporting world and is inspiring a generation that dreams can come true.  Janet has dedicated 14 years to the BYRDS programme with six spent as Director.  Under her leadership, the Young Professionals Award, BYRDS ambassador programme and a new Symposium have all flourished. 

Annual trophies were presented as follows:

Tyrell Trophy

Kindly donated by Lady Caroline Tyrrell, the trophy goes to the highest placed British-bred mare competing at the National Championships in 2016. 

Awarded to: to Keystone Rhadiant, an Oldenburg mare by Rhondeo owned by Lindsey Dawes and bred by Suzanne Lavendera.  With rider Tiggy Bentley (Oxon), she finished tenth with 68.78% in the Dodson & Horrell Novice Silver Championship.

Laura Fry Award

A new award in 2017, this trophy goes to recognise someone who has gone above and beyond in service to dressage in the Northern Region.

Awarded to: Islay Auty (Worcestershire) who is from outside the region but her professionalism, integrity and dedication to riders in the North has shaped so many riders from the area.

Worshipful Company of Saddlers Voucher

Kindly donated by the Worshipful Company of Saddlers, the voucher for a saddle is given to the highest overall placed Para rider from all five classes at the LeMieux National Championships.  

Awarded to: Susannah Wade (49) from Lincolnshire with D Artagnan III on 75.65% in the Grade 1A Individual Championship. 

Pablo Picasso Trophy

Kindly donated by Penny and Fiona Bigwood, the trophy was commissioned to commemorate Fiona’s Junior/Young Rider horse, Pablo Picasso who made five European Championship appearances.  On their behalf, it’s awarded to the highest placed British Young Rider in the team test at the European Championships which were held this year in Oliva, Spain

Awarded to: Amy Schiessl (21) from Hampshire with Mr Mercury who scored 69.57% for 15th place.

The Graduate Trophy

Kindly donated by Rita and Kate Butling, the Graduate Trophy is presented to the rider in their last year of U21s who, in the Selectors’ opinion, has made the most progress in 2016.

Awarded to: Amy Schiessl (21) from Hampshire

The Richmond Trophy

Kindly donated by the Duke and Duchess of Richmond, this trophy is awarded to the highest placed Junior / Young Rider in the Freestyle at the European Championships each year.

Awarded to: Phoebe Peters (17) from Gloucestershire riding Debbie Stibbe’s Denford Surprise. The combination finished ninth in the Freestyle with 72.37% in Olivia, Spain at the Junior European Championships.

The Trendell Trophy

Kindly donated by long term supporter Mrs Christine Trendell, this trophy is awarded to the most successful Junior rider in the Team test at the Junior European Championships.

Awarded to: Phoebe Peters (17) from Gloucestershire riding Debbie Stibbe’s Denford Surprise. The combination finished 11th in the Team test with 70.32% in Olivia, Spain at the Junior European Championships.

The Lucan Trophy

Kindly donated by Mrs Kathryn Heappey, the Lucan Trophy goes to the highest placed British Pony rider in the Individual test at the European Championships.

Awarded to: Maddy Whelan (13) from Oxfordshire riding Ode to Shannon to finish ninth with 71.85% in the Individual test at Vilhelmsborg, Denmark.

The Maureen Newall Trophy

Presented in memory of Maureen Newall who was Chief Pony Selector from 1998 – 2003, this trophy is awarded to the pony and rider combination gaining the highest percentage in their first international trip abroad in the Pony Team test.

Awarded to: Sophie Taylor (14) from Lancashire with Becky Moody’s Madam’s Miss Maria, who competed at Saumur CDIOP and gained 70.28%.

The BDSC Pony Trophy

Kindly donated by the BDSC Committee, this trophy is awarded to the Pony rider who, in the Selectors’ opinion, has produced the best performances at Premier League shows during 2016.

Awarded to: Charlotte McDowall (14) from Gloucestershire with BKS Grand Design.

You may also like…

Join us on Facebook

Follow on Twitter